HOG Ride and Have Fun

The local HOG chapter publishes a tour book that contains quite a few local choice destinations that the group has compiled. Seeing as how I’m new to the area and am up for sniffing new pavement… challenge accepted. There are four sections that need to be completed and each section earns the rider a piece of the Pike’s Peak chapter 405 RAHF patch. There is also another section in the tour book that mirrors the ABCs of touring, but I can’t quite figure out what you get for completing it. Essentially it requires a photo in front of a city, county, state, post office, police station or fire station for the letters RIDEANDHAVEFUNHOG. Example being “Franktown” would take care of the “F” in Fun. With that said I’m listing all the rides and sections below along with the picture once I complete it (Picture must include rider, bike and tour book).  This webpage will obviously be a “living and changing” thread for quite some time until I get this completed. Check back time and again to see the progress thus far.

Section One

Alferd  Packer Museum http://www.roadsideamerica.com/story/23839

Bents Fort http://www.nps.gov/beol/index.htm

Bishop Castle http://www.bishopcastle.org/

Black Canyon http://www.nps.gov/blca/index.htm

Blue Mesa Lake http://www.thebluemesa.com/

Buffalo Bill Grave http://www.buffalobill.org/

Byers-Evans House https://www.historycolorado.org/center-colorado-womens-history-byers-evans-house

Cheyenne Wells Old Jail Museum http://www.ourjourney.info/MyJourneyDestinations/CheyenneCountyMuseum.asp

Cinder Volcano https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Capulin_Volcano_National_Monument

Clear Creek Falls https://dayhikesneardenver.com/north-clear-creek-falls-colorado/

Colorado National Monument http://www.nps.gov/colm/index.htm

Coors Brewery https://www.visitgolden.com/places-to-go/coors-brewery-tour/

Cowboy Collectibles http://www.cowboycollectiblesonline.com/

Rocky Mountain Dinosaur Resource Center – Woodland Park http://www.rmdrc.com/

Dinosaur Journey Museum– Fruita https://museumofwesternco.com/dinosaur-journey/

Dinosaur National Monument http://www.nps.gov/dino/index.htm

Doc Holiday’s Grave http://www.roadsideamerica.com/tip/1549

Section Two

Fat Tire Brewery http://www.newbelgium.com/brewery/tasting-room/visit-us.aspx

Florissant Fossil Beds http://www.nps.gov/flfo/index.htm

Fort Garland http://www.museumtrail.org/FortGarlandMuseum.asp

Fort Vasquez https://www.historycolorado.org/fort-vasquez

Four Corners National Monument https://www.durango.org/discover-durango/four-corners

Garden of the Gods http://www.gardenofgods.com/yourvisit/index.cfm

Ghost Towns: Find one and submit the pic! Be adventurous!

Gateway—Classic car museum http://www.gatewayautomuseum.com/

Silver Plume Schoolhouse/George Rowe Museum https://www.colorado.com/historic-places-districts/george-rowe-museum-schoolhouse

Glendale School House (I have no idea where this is at…. stay tuned)

Greely Union Pacific Rail Depot http://www.greeleyhistory.org/pages/depot.html

Hanging Lake http://www.visitglenwood.com/hanging-lake

Helen Hunt Falls http://www.uncovercolorado.com/Waterfalls/Helen-Hunt-Falls.html

Hornbek Homestead http://www.ghosttowns.com/states/co/hornbekhomestead.html

HovenWeep National Monument http://neartime.com/ruins/Hovenweep.htm

Section Three

Kit Carson County Carousel http://www.kitcarsoncountycarousel.com/

Lincoln County Hedlund House Museum http://www.ourjourney.info/MyJourneyDestinations/LincolnCountyMuseum.asp

Lowry Pueblo https://www.mesaverdecountry.com/see-do/archaeology/lowry-pueblo/

Ludlow Tent Colony Site http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ludlow_Tent_Colony_Site

Maroon Bells http://www.stayaspensnowmass.com/activities/visit-maroon-bells

Meeker http://www.meekercolorado.com/

Mesa Verde http://www.nps.gov/meve/index.htm

Moose Museum http://www.poudreriverresort.com/Moose%20Visitor%20Center.html

Mt. Evans https://www.denver.org/things-to-do/day-trips-around-colorado/mount-evans/

Natural Sandstone Fort http://www.roadsideamerica.com/tip/29807

Oldest church: Our Lady of Guadeloupe Parish , Conejos http://www.ologp.com/about-us.html

Outlaws and Lawmen Jail and Museum Cripple Creek http://visitcripplecreek.com/businesses/cripple-creek-jail-museum

Paint Mines Calhan http://www.awayfromthegrind.com/blog/hiking/colorado/paint-mines-interpretive-park/

Pikes Peak http://www.pikes-peak.com/

Pikes Stockade https://fourcornersgeotourism.com/content/pikes-stockade-national-historic-landmark/fca06921cfa47eae89b9

Rainbow Arch Bridge https://bridgehunter.com/co/morgan/fort-morgan/

Rocky Mountain National Park http://www.nps.gov/romo/index.htm

Section Four

Roxborough St. Park http://cpw.state.co.us/placestogo/parks/Roxborough

Royal Gorge Bridge http://www.pikes-peak.com/attractions/royal-gorge-bridge-and-park/

Sand Dunes http://www.nps.gov/grsa/index.htm

Sandcreek Mascre site http://www.nps.gov/sand/index.htm

Shenandoah Dives Mill or Mayflower Mill http://www.sanjuancountyhistoricalsociety.org/mayflower-mill.html

Shrine of the Stations of the Cross https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/costillacounty/shrine-stations-cross

Skyline Drive http://www.city-data.com/articles/Skyline-Drive-Canon-City-CO.html

Solid Muldoon Grave http://www.roadsideamerica.com/tip/7110

Southpark http://www.colorado.com/articles/real-south-park-colorado

Spanish Peaks/Stonewall http://spanishpeakscountry.com/activities-attractions/scenic-byways-excursions/scenic-highway-of-legends/trinidad-to-stonewall/

Stanley Hotel Estes Park http://www.stanleyhotel.com/

Ten Roses Dragon Tree http://www.roadsideamerica.com/tip/30180

Treasure Falls http://naturalhighs.net/waterfalls/falls/treasure.htm

Trujillo Homstead http://www.cr.nps.gov/nr/feature/hispanic/2004/trujillo.htm

Will Rogers Shrine http://www.cmzoo.org/index.php/about-the-zoo/history/will-rogers-shrine/

Prison Museum, Cañon City http://www.prisonmuseum.org/

RIDEANDHAVEFUNHOG

R

I

D

E

A

N

D

H

A

V

E

F

U

N

H

O

G

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *